If you’ve been in a car crash, you probably have a million things going through your mind. Life doesn’t pause to give you time to sort everything out. You may still need to commute to work the next day. In this situation, a common question is “How do I get a rental car after an accident?” This guide can walk you through rental car legal FAQs for Maricopa County.
How Do I Get a Rental Car After an Accident in Arizona?
There are many options for getting a rental car in Maricopa County. Rental car agencies have locations in Mesa, Tempe, Gilbert, Chandler and other cities. To rent a car, you need your driver’s license and a credit/debit card, or proof of your insurance policy.
You can also reserve a rental car online. Some services deliver the vehicle to your location, such as your home or a repair shop.
Who Is Responsible for Paying for My Rental Car After a Crash?
Arizona takes an at-fault approach to liability for car accidents. The driver who caused the accident is responsible for covering damages and injuries related to the crash. Depending on the circumstances, rental car costs may be covered by:
- The other driver’s insurance policy: The other insurer must pay for damage to your vehicle and other accident-related costs, including rental car expenses.
- Your insurance policy: Your insurer may cover rental car costs if you have comprehensive or collision insurance.
- Money from your own pocket: If the other driver is uninsured, or you only have basic liability insurance, you need to pay for a rental car yourself.
Sadly, even if a covered driver is at fault, filing a claim can take a long time. You may end up having to pay in the meantime.
How Do I Know If My Insurance Covers a Rental Car?
When choosing collision or comprehensive car insurance, look for rental car reimbursement. This type of coverage is optional. Read the details carefully, including the following:
- Daily limit: Policies have a cap on costs per day, such as $50.
- Per claim limit: There is also a cap on total expenses, such as $400.
- Other expenses: Some policies also cover travel and lodging if the accident happens far from home.
Keep in mind that you may still need to pay a deductible. Rental reimbursement generally doesn’t cover mileage fees, security deposits or fuel costs, either.
How Long Does Rental Car Reimbursement Last?
The details depend on your policy. Sometimes, the limit is based on days, such as 14 or 30 days. Other times, the limit is per claim, giving you coverage up to a certain dollar amount.
How Do I Get a Rental Car After an Accident Quickly?
Many rental car companies have experience with local insurers, so they may provide a car and help you arrange the details with your insurance company. Another option is to cover rental car costs out of pocket and request reimbursement afterward.
At Sargon Law Group, we recommend taking your time before signing any insurance documents. Insurers may try to trick you into giving up your rights in exchange for fast reimbursement. Contact us in Mesa with any questions right away, including how to get a rental car after an accident.