Arizona has specific laws related to automobile insurance requirements for residents. Just like every other state across the US, drivers in Arizona must obtain and maintain a specific dollar value of liability insurance. Experienced Phoenix car accident attorneys at Sargon Law Group share that failing to carry insurance could lead to legal penalties. Failure to maintain insurance could also lead to significant financial jeopardy if an uninsured driver is involved in an accident.
What Insurance Does State Law Require?
In the state of Arizona, drivers are required to purchase and maintain the following types of coverage along with the following minimum dollar amount in order to remain legal on the roadway:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage of $15,000 per accident
Is This Enough Insurance?
Legally, yes, this is enough insurance to purchase in order to keep yourself legal on Arizona roadways. However, in order to better ensure your financial stability should you be involved in an accident and hold liability, we strongly encourage you to purchase higher minimums.
Any type of vehicle accident can lead to significant injuries, even a seemingly minor incident. Medical care is expensive, and if your insurance fails to adequately cover the expenses arising from another party due to an accident you caused, you could end up being held civilly liable, meaning the money comes from your personal assets.
Purchasing higher levels of insurance coverage can help protect you, your assets, and your family.
What About Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Arizona. However, this is a type of insurance that we strongly encourage all drivers to consider carrying.
Underinsured motorist coverage is designed to help pay expenses if another driver causes an accident, but their insurance policy limits prevent you from recovering enough compensation to pay for your losses.
Uninsured motorist coverage will help you recover compensation if you are involved in an accident caused by a driver without insurance or a hit-and-run driver who flees the scene of the incident and is not apprehended.
When Do You Need to Report a Collision in Arizona?
Not every vehicle accident has to be reported, but most do. When we examine Arizona law, we can see that law enforcement officers are required to report any accident if the incident resulted in an injury, death, or property damage of more than $1,000. Additionally, if a citation is issued as a result of the incident, the accident report must be submitted by law enforcement.
Our team of Phoenix personal injury lawyers encourage drivers to always contact law enforcement officials after an accident occurs. The police need to come to the scene and make a decision about whether or not to fill out a report.
Motorcycle Insurance – Do You Need a Separate Policy?
If you own a motorcycle, you will need to purchase a separate motorcycle insurance policy to cover that vehicle. The types of insurance and the minimum dollar values required are the same for a motorcycle as they are for any other type of vehicle. However, you cannot simply purchase a policy for your traditional passenger vehicle and assume it will carry over to you riding your motorcycle as well. Two separate policies are needed.