If you are the victim of a hit-and-run or have hit someone and fled the scene, you may be wondering about the statute of limitations for a hit-and-run in Arizona.
To comprehend the statute of limitations for hit-and-runs in the state of Arizona, first, you need to understand what a hit-and-run is, what a statute of limitations is, and find out how an Arizona hit-and-run accident attorney can help with your legal rights.
What Is a Hit-and-Run?
A hit-and-run is also known as leaving the scene of an accident. If a driver hits another car, a parked vehicle, or a person and then flees the scene, that driver has committed a crime.
People leave the scene of an accident for many reasons. Some may be driving without a license, feel afraid, have outstanding warrants, or have an expired vehicle registration. Whatever the reason may be, it is a crime.
What Is the Law on Hit-and-Runs in Arizona?
The statute of limitations for a hit-and-run in Arizona depends on the type of crime committed. The law divides hit and runs into two categories: misdemeanor and felony.
If you hit another car and don’t stop, or hit a parked car and don’t leave your contact information, this is a misdemeanor in Arizona. This is punishable by as much as four months in jail, a fine of $750 and the suspension of your license. Causing property damage is a misdemeanor.
A hit-and-run is a felony when you don’t stop after causing an accident that results in physical injury or death. The consequences of this are permanent revocation of driving privileges and up to 12 years in prison. If you have a prior felony, you could face up to 35 years in jail.
What Is a Statute of Limitations?
A statute of limitations is a law that determines how long after an incident or dispute you can begin legal proceedings. Generally, the more severe the crime, the longer the statute of limitations is.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for a Hit-and-Run in Arizona?
The statute of limitations for a hit-and-run in Arizona depends on what type of hit-and-run accident occurred. Misdemeanor hit-and-runs typically have a statute of limitations of three to four years, though it may be less, depending on the circumstances.
More serious hit-and-runs depend on what type of injury the accident caused. For example, if the driver purposefully hit someone, the case would be a murder, and there would be no statute of limitations. On the other hand, if the victim were accidentally hit and died, the statute of limitations would be seven years. Working with an experienced personal injury attorney in Phoenix can help determine the statute of limitations for your case.
When Should You Contact a Lawyer About the Statute of Limitations for Hit-and-Run in Arizona?
If you have fled the scene of an accident or are the victim of a hit-and-run, it’s essential to contact a Phoenix car accident lawyer about the statute of limitations for a hit-and-run claim in Arizona. Your time limit may be shorter than you think. However, getting a professional opinion right away can help ensure that you can put together a solid defense or press charges on time to receive possible compensation for your injuries. Contact us today for a free consultation.